Global SME Finance Awards

Global SME Finance Awards

** Deadline Extended to August 14, 2020 **

The COVID-19 global pandemic is having a significant impact on all businesses around the world.
We are cognizant that business has changed, seemingly overnight, but the 2020 Global SME Finance Awards are an opportunity
to reflect on good practices and innovations to serve SMEs, now more than ever.

This is why we have extended the application deadline to August 14, to provide more time to share what you are doing to support SMEs.

The Global SME Finance Awards recognize financial institutions

and FinTech companies for their outstanding achievements

in serving SME clients with exceptional products and services.

Institutions that have successfully launched an innovative product or service for SME clients,

achieved remarkable results in providing finance to SMEs, and specifically women-owned SMEs,

or is an innovator in digital financial services,

are encouraged to submit an entry in these categories

(each institution can be considered for up to two categories).

Winners will be announced at the Global SME Finance Forum 2020 Virtual Edition.

Endorsed by the G20 Global Partnership for Financial Inclusion (GPFI),

the Global SME Finance Awards provide an opportunity

for institutions to showcase and share their good practices and knowledge,

and for the wider SME finance community to learn from their examples.


Key Dates

Deadline for submission:
August 14, 2020
Winners Announced:
27 October 2020
Virtual Edition


1. Nomination is open to all banks, financial institutions and fintech companies.

2. Each institution can nominate up to two categories.

3. Each nomination form is valid for 1 entry only. If you are nominating for two categories, please enter each entry separately.

4. Nomination is free of charge.

How to apply?

  • Fill out the form with details about company
    and main contact person for the Awards nomination
  • Select your category
  • Follow the process to address the criteria and complete your entry
  • Upload supporting documents (if any)
  • Submit application
  • You will receive a confirmation that your nomination has been received
  • Submit your entries by 23:59 EST August 14th, 2020

If your question has not been answered from the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), please send your question to the awards organizers by clicking on the button below.

Judging criteria

Awards will be judged by a committee of industry experts. Judging criteria is specific to each category and may include the following areas:
What is the number of MSMEs served/financed and volume of financing provided/loan outstanding to the MSMEs both directly and indirectly?
Uniqueness & Innovation
Has the project introduced new or cutting-edge innovation? How original is the idea compared to solutions that are currently in use?
Effectiveness & Impact
Did the project/product/service achieve its objectives and targets? What measures have been used to assess its success? What was the impact to your company and industry?
Dynamism & Scalability
Is the strategy, project, service or product flexible to changes and progressive opportunities?